State of Paraná

Located on the southern part of Brazil, Paraná is also referred to as the “Land of Peoples” because it has been home to over 30 races, including Italians, Syrian, Japanese, Dutch, Jews, and Lebanese among others. These mixed settlers have cultivated the state well that it has become fifth of the country’s largest economy.

There are nine main cities in Paraná, to which Curitiba is the largest and it’s capital. Included in these cities are Londrina, Maringá, Foz do Iguaçu, Ponta Grossa, Cascavel, Guarapuava, Paranaguá, and Arapongas.

Londrina, which is next to Curitiba in size, lies on the northern part of the state. Originally nestled by the Brits, the city is now inhabited by 500,000 people. It is here where the State University of Londrina, which attracts many students throughout the country due to its quality education, is located. Among the interesting spots in the city are the Acoustic Shell, Arthur Thomas Municipal Park, International Race Track, and the Liberating Christ Monument.

Maringá, on the other hand, is third of the state’s largest cities. It was established in 1947 and has since then been a regional hub for agro-services, universities, and commerce. The city has also been contributing a lot to the state’s tourism due to its lush trees which makes it one of Brazil’s greenest cities.

Another main city Paraná is Foz do Iguaçu. Situated about 650 kilometers from the west of Curitiba, the city has over 309,000 inhabitants known as iguaçuenses. The Iguassu Falls, which is considered to be one of Brazil’s most important destinations for tourists, is found here.

Following Foz do Iguaçu is Ponta Grossa which is next to Curitiba as the state’s industrial leaders. Known as Princesa dos Campos or the Princess of the Fields in English, the city boasts of its many attractions that include the State Park of Old Town, Priest’s Hole, and the Mariquinha Fall.

Meanwhile, lying on the west and mid-south of Paraná, respectively are Cascavel and Guarapuava. While the first is known for being one of the state’s leaders in medical technology, especially on the field of video surgery, the latter is famous for its rich museums encompassing the Museum Entomological Hipólito Schneider, Municipal Museum of Viscount and the collection of Prof. João José Bigarella showcased in the Museum of Natural Science.

Paranaguá and Arapongas, on the other hand, are the state’s 10th and 11th largest cities, respectively. The first is known to be the oldest city in Paraná.

As home to different people with varied races and culture, Paraná indeed promises a lot of learning and discovery to its visitor.